Pittsburgh, PA
May 23, 2022
    News           Sports           Lifestyle           Classifieds           About Us
A & E
Tv Listings
The Dining Guide
Headlines by E-mail
Home >  A & E >  TV/Radio Printer-friendly versionE-mail this story
TV/Radio: Local stations win AP awards

Wednesday, June 12, 2002

By Adrian McCoy and Rob Owen, Post-Gazette Staff Writers

The Associated Press broadcast awards were handed out Saturday in Harrisburg, with Pittsburgh TV stations dominating over Philadelphia TV stations.

KDKA won 12 awards, plus the Joe Snyder Award for outstanding news service. WPXI won three, plus one for sister station PCNC. WTAE and WPGH won two awards each.

KDKA's first place awards were for spot news (Rebecca Hower on the capture of a bear), feature (Dave Crawley on Revolutionary War re-enactors), sportscast (Bob Pompeani on Oct. 21, 2001), news photography (Dave Colabine on a water main break) and sports photography ("Steeler Monday," by photographer/editor Michael Challik).

Second place awards went to KDKA for public affairs ("Heinz Field: The Rooney VIP Tour"), feature (David Highfield on driving with a cell phone) and news photography (David Forstate on a haunted house).

KDKA's third place awards included regularly schedule newscast (11 p.m., Nov. 8, 2001), enterprise/individual reporting (Andy Sheehan on molestation charges against a priest), public affairs (Three Rivers implosion) and sports feature ("Steeler Monday" by photographer/editor Michael Challik).

WPXI won first place for regularly scheduled newscast (11 p.m. news on Nov. 8, 2001) and enterprise/individual reporting (Alan Jennings for a report on a state legislator shooting a sign). PCNC won second place for terrorist attack coverage (producer/photographer Anthony R. Ruffolo on the effects on Lower Manhattan residents) and WPXI came in third place for its Sept. 11 coverage.

WTAE took the second place award for regularly scheduled newscast (11 p.m. May 8, 2001) and first place for Marilyn Brooks' "Healthy 4 Life: Worth the Weight" in the public affairs category.

WPGH won second place for spot news coverage (reporter Tom Sussi on a mountain rescue) and was in a tie for second place for Matt Morano's regular weather forecasts.

In competition among radio stations, all-news KQV-AM (1410) swept many of the categories. KQV president and general manager Robert Dickey received the Roy Morgan Award, which goes to people or stations for outstanding contributions to broadcast journalism.

The station received the Joe Snyder Award for best overall news coverage in a major market and won second place in the Sandy Starobin Award for enterprise/individual reporting ("Population Series" by Bruce Sakalik).

KQV won first place for its Sept. 11 coverage, spot news ("Crash of Flight 93" by Walt Golden), regularly scheduled newscast, public affairs (a profile of the "Without Sanctuary" exhibit at the Andy Warhol Museum by Elaine Effort) and sportscast. The station won third place for a sports feature on Willie Stargell.

KDKA-AM (1020) won first place awards for sports play-by-play ("Pirates 2001") and news or sports talk program ("KDKA Sportstalk" with Thor Tolo and Jeff Hathhorn).

The station won second place awards for Sept. 11 coverage, spot news ("Terrorism Hits Home"), sportscast and sports feature ("Letter of Intent Day" by Jeff Hathhorn). KDKA took a third place award for regularly scheduled newscast.

WDUQ-FM won first place for sports feature ("Steelers 1-0-1" by Katherine Fink), second place for feature ("Camp Defy" by Mark Nootbaar), third place for public affairs ("Exploring Pittsburgh's International Efforts" by Mark Nootbaar) and a tie for third place with Philadelphia's KYW for the Sandy Starobin Award for enterprise/individual reporting ("Flight 93: Dealing With Disaster" by Mark Nootbaar).

More from Radioland

Back to top Back to top E-mail this story E-mail this story
Search | Contact Us |  Site Map | Terms of Use |  Privacy Policy |  Advertise | Help |  Corrections