Pittsburgh Hear and Now
Pittsburgh Hear and Now: Believe Your Ears

Each week, local and national musicians talk about their lives and careers, illustrated with samples of their music.

Schedule: Tuesdays

Subscribe using: iTunes | XML (Click 'XML' for archive)

Tuesday, April 15, 2014
Music critic Rich Kienzle reviews Ronnie Milsap's "Summer Number Seventeen." [6:02]
Wednesday, April 09, 2014
Music critic Rich Kienzle reviews "Young Guns" by Gene Ludwig and the Pat Martino Trio.
Wednesday, March 26, 2014
P-G pop music critic Scott Mervis talks with Rachael Price of Lake Street Dive. Country music critic Rich Kienzle reviews David Nail's "I'm A Fire."
Wednesday, March 19, 2014
P-G pop music critic Scott Mervis talks with Adam Granduciel of The War on Drugs. Country music critic Rich Kienzle reviews "Reflections," the latest from Don Williams
Wednesday, March 12, 2014
Music critic Rich Kienzle reviews "True To the Blues: The Johnny Winter Story."
Wednesday, March 05, 2014
P-G pop music critic Scott Mervis interviewed the late Pittsburgh rocker Tommy Osh [real name Thomas O'Shanick] a few days before Osh died in a car accident. This week, we have excerpts from that interview. Later in the podcast, country music critic Rich Kienzle reviews Dierks Bentley's "Riser."
Wednesday, February 26, 2014
Music critic Rich Kienzle reviews "Albert Lee Live at the Iridium."
Wednesday, February 19, 2014
P-G pop music critic Scott Mervis talks with Johnny Saint-Lethal and Brandon Mitchell of The Show. Country music critic Rich Kienzle reviews Eric Church's "The Outsiders."
Wednesday, February 12, 2014
Country music critic Rich Kienzle reviews "Lucky" by Suzy Bogguss. [6:38]
Tuesday, February 04, 2014
Music critic Rich Kienzle reviews "From His Head to His Heart to His Hands," a collection of recordings by guitar great Mike Bloomfield.
Wednesday, January 29, 2014
P-G pop music critic Scott Mervis talks with Craig Finn of The Hold Steady, and music critic Rich Kienzle reviews the" Inside Llewyn Davis" soundtrack.
Wednesday, January 22, 2014
P-G pop music critic Scott Mervis talks with Pixies guitarist Joey Santiago. Music critic Rich Kienzle reviews "This Is Lone Justice: The Vaught Tapes 1983" by Lone Justice.
Wednesday, January 15, 2014
P-G pop music critic Scott Mervis talks with Zack Keim and Sam Berman of The Nox Boys about their debut album "Nox Boys."
Wednesday, January 08, 2014
P-G pop music critic Scott Mervis talks with Abby Krizner of Fist Fight in the Parking Lot about the band's new album "Year of the Ox." Music critic Rich Kienzle looks back at some of the noted figures in music history who died in 2013
Tuesday, December 31, 2013
Music critic Rich Kienzle shares his picks for the top records of 2013.