Robin Hill Park is the result of a bequest, in 1971, when Mrs. Francis B. Nimick willed her 52 acre estate with a 24 room Georgian-style mansion to Moon Township. She requested her property be used for wildlife refuge and nature preserve.
One of the main attractions on the park property is an oil well that dates back to 1890. The well, which still operates today from time to time, is located at the end of the service road at the junction of the Black Cherry Sour and Beech Trail. It is unique in that it runs on gas powered engines which utilize the natural gas from the well and are cooled by water from the well. A second oil well which was located along the service road was dismantled and taken out of service by the owners.
The herb garden was developed in 1979 on the site of an old English flower garden that had been overgrown. The Parks and Recreation Department cleared and excavated the site of the old garden to locate the original paths and garden perimeter. Since that time, fencing, new brick benches, and a sundial have been added to the garden. The Robin Hill Herb Society presently maintains and cultivates the garden.
Varies per event; call for details.
Free, on-site parking is available.